#europe2013whaddup – SPAIN (SEVILLE)

IMG_9568edit

Day 5

After getting feedback from *cough*ANDREW*cough* that my posts are too lengthy, I decided to shorten my trip to Seville in one post. (Look what you did now, Andrew!)

We loved Granada so much, we really couldn’t bear to leave. Seville, on the other hand, was a little too touristy for my liking. I think if we had a little more time to spare, and I did more research, we would have discovered some really interesting hotspots around town.

We made the most of our two days in Seville and started our day early by taking the 8am train from Granada. If I remember correctly, we arrived on a Sunday. Most shops were closed, and thus, we settled for some sightseeing instead. I think at this point of the trip, we were pretty burnt out from just waking early, walking around the whole day and then repeating the process for many days. We just wanted to take things slow.

IMG_9522

IMG_9518

Ribbet collage

 

After lunch, we decided to roam around town, then we spotted this really huge cathedral. It’s the Seville Cathedral or otherwise known as Cathedral de Sevilla. I swear, we were really lucky. It was about 2 or 3pm plus it was terribly warm. I spotted a queue and the Singaporean in me thought, “HEY WHAT IS THIS QUEUE. LET ME FIND OUT.” Turns out, the Cathedral had just opened for the day. What great timing, yay! 

Seville Cathedral was…. awesome, for lack of a better word. You know what they say about “taking your breath away.” Not many places I’ve been to have had that effect on me – but the places that did include Niagara Falls and seeing Chicago at night from the top of the Willis Tower. This cathedral made the list, mostly for its interiors.

To prove my point, a quick Wiki search showed that Seville Cathedral, which was completed in the early 16th century, is the largest Gothic cathedral and the third largest church in the world. It was also registered in 1987 by UNESCO as a World Heritage Site. Oh yes, plus, Christopher Columbus’ tomb lays there. WHAT?

IMG_9530

 

IMG_9541

IMG_9542

 

IMG_9543

 

IMG_9549

 

IMG_9553

 

IMG_9560

 

IMG_9563

Make sure you head up to the Giralda – the bell tower of the Cathedral, which is included in the admission ticket. Given that you’re 105 metres above the ground, you can be assured of magnificent views of the city. Warning: there are no lifts! 

IMG_9569

IMG_9570

IMG_9571

IMG_9586

Like I mentioned earlier, if there was anything I didn’t like – it would be that it was slightly touristy. There were horse carriages outside the Cathedral, which I totally understand is part of the experience, but they were touting, and we tried to steer clear of that. Also, I read online that some locals would be stationed outside such tourist attractions with a flower or plant in hand, and attempt to offer it to you, claiming that it’s for good luck. If you didn’t understand Spanish and weren’t aware of this, you would have accepted it and end up having to pay for the flower. We met several of them, but just walk on and you’ll be fine.

Thereafter, we took an evening stroll to Plaza de Espana – just like in Granada, we didn’t spend a single cent on local transport. Wouldn’t it be wonderful if we could do that here? 
IMG_9591

IMG_9601

IMG_9605

IMG_9610

IMG_9624

Day 6

We bought tickets to catch the afternoon train back to Madrid and spent the morning walking around town. It was pretty rushed towards the end. I got so upset especially since I read so much about the bullring in Seville, but we didn’t have time to do a tour of it. I only got pictures of the exterior, it was very touch and go. I felt like it was such a waste, to go all the way to Spain and not visit a bullring – not the match, but just the bullring. But all that changed when I got to Madrid, which you’ll read about in my next post! 😉

IMG_9651

IMG_9652

IMG_9653

IMG_9662

Leave a Reply

