#europe2013whaddup – SPAIN (GRANADA PART 2)

IMG_9416edit

I’m really thankful that with the flexibility of my job – however, that said, I’ve to work weekends when others don’t. But anyways, because I get random weekdays off, it gives me time to run some errands and do other stuff like update my blog while I chill my cookie dough in the fridge! I’m really excited that I’m making some progress with regards to my travel posts, there’s still a huge backlog which I’ve yet to get started on – like my trip to Suzhou, Perth and Queenstown.

P.S I’ve updated the pictures from my previous posts on Madrid, which you can read here and here, and oh my, it really makes a difference when uploading the images straight from your camera o.o

Oh! And yes, to make it easier to read, I’ve also compiled a list of the places I’ve been – just click on Travel at the top or if you’re lazy like me, over here.

Moving on to Part 2 of my trip to Granada – I’ve to say, Day 4 was my favourite of the entire trip – the highlights were definitely Sacromonte Caves and the Alhambra (a must-see if you head to Granada).

Day 4

Our first stop of the day was the Sacromonte Caves – it’s really easy to navigate to the Caves from Albayzin which was where we were staying at. Along the way, I had to stop and take pictures of the apartments, plus their doors are so pretty, I couldn’t resist. It then became a running joke throughout the trip that I had this obsession with doors… and which the pictures will prove later on.

IMG_9316

IMG_9324

IMG_9325

IMG_9331

I spotted a few hostels and apartments in the Sacromonte district, but I think many prefer to stay in the heart of town. From Sacromonte, it would take you about 20 minutes to half an hour to walk into town – it’s probably more of a residential area, with a few restaurants and one or two mini-marts.

Sacromonte is known its gypsy or Roma community and also for its caves or cuevas. You can catch flamenco performances in these cuevas, and although I hear that it is pretty touristy, I guess it is still worth watching at least once.

IMG_9346

IMG_9352

IMG_9368

IMG_9369

IMG_9363As we headed deeper into the district, it was a gradual uphill climb, but thankfully, the weather was kind. Traffic isn’t heavy here, although you might have to steer clear of the occasional bus, car and motorcycle passing through. It seems like the people in Granada live life really simply and carefree – I guess anyone would, especially in such an idyllic setting!

I also recommend taking shots of the Alhambra from here – plus the blue skies, the shots turned out really well.

IMG_9334

IMG_9356

IMG_9361

IMG_9367Thereafter, we walked into town – got some souvenirs along the way and more sightseeing before we headed to the Alhambra.

IMG_9371

IMG_9374

IMG_9388

We stopped by what used to be an Arab bath – we were lucky because it wasn’t listed in my itinerary. There are functional Arab baths in Granda, which I think would have been really interesting to visit, but we were on a tight budget and decided to give it a miss. Luckily, we chanced upon this one!

IMG_9377

IMG_9380

IMG_9381Next stop was the Alhambra. Based on what I read online prior to the trip, it’s best to book your tickets online and save yourself the trouble of waiting or if it gets sold out. You can choose to enter in the Morning or the Afternoon, and at times, there are Night visits as well. The Alhambra was initially a fortress and later converted to a royal palace, so you can imagine that this place is huge! It definitely requires at least half a day to see everything, if you were speedwalking I guess. We were so tired from our walk to the Caves in the morning, that we ended up choosing a few places to visit in the Alhambra.

The admission ticket also includes a visit to the Nazaríes Palaces, and you would have to give yourself enough time to head there, especially since it’s not anywhere near the entrance. If you chose to enter the Palace at 3pm, you can’t be late, otherwise, they wouldn’t let you in. I really liked the Alhambra, I’ve not seen anything like it before!

IMG_9394

IMG_9395

IMG_9399

IMG_9401

IMG_9412

IMG_9419

IMG_9428

IMG_9429

IMG_9445

IMG_9448

IMG_9460

IMG_9463

IMG_9466

IMG_9479

IMG_9488

And to reward ourselves after a long day, churros!

IMG_9504

Leave a Reply

