HONG KONG – DIM SUM AND MORE!

Of late, I find myself heading back to Hong Kong almost every year – first and foremost, because of the deals on budget airlines, and second, to eat and shop (I am Singaporean after all hehe). Also, because it’s just so convenient! I’ve extended my transit when I was on my way to China and the US, and I think often, at no extra cost.

As similar as it is to Singapore, there’s this certain old world and colonial charm about Hong Kong that is very alluring. I love how the old and new can co-exist in one place. On Central, you have your high rise, luxurious and modern buildings, and then you get the opposite in Kowloon. Very refreshing.

I dug out photos from 2007, and upon compiling this where-to-eat list, I’ve realised it’s best suited to those who are new to Hong Kong. There are definitely more gems to be discovered and added to the list. Enjoy!

# Lan Fong Yuen

lfy

lfy2

lfy3

LFY is always packed – if you’re in a big group, you wait. If it’s the two of you, you share a table, and often, elbow to elbow. But that’s what I like about LFY, plus how you have to struggle to be heard and to get your order taken. I usually get the chicken maggi noodle dish and the pork chop bun. The locals eat there, don’t think you can go wrong with that.

2 Gage Street, Central

# Tai Cheong 

et

et2

Just a short walk from LFY is Tai Cheong. I dare say they have one of the best egg tarts around. Quote me on that.

G/F, 35 Lyndhurst Terrace, Central

# Tao Heung

dimsum

taoheung

What’s a trip to HK without dim sum? It’s easy to get dim sum in HK, but I tend to visit Tao Heung at TST (I usually stay in TST as well – what can I say, I’m a creature of habit). The standard fluctuates, my second visit wasn’t that impressive compared to the first. The food and prices are decent. Not the best I reckon, but it’s a good place to head to for yum cha or in between your shopping – they don’t rush or chase you to finish your meal.

I’ve not tried Tim Ho Wan (I know, I ought to be shot), which I heard has pretty good dim sum – or perhaps because its a Michelin star restaurant. Whatever it is, there’s an outlet in Singapore now, yay.

3/F, Carnarvon Plaza,
20 Carnavon Rd, Tsim Sha Tsui

 # Sun Kee

sunkee

I scribbled this on my hard copy : Edison Chen has eaten here before. Many stars have eaten there too, judging from the photos and articles on their wall. Sun Kee is famous for their cheese noodles. This dish wasn’t mindblowing, but it was interesting to have for a change.

G/F, 13-14, Champagne Court,
6-20 Kimberley Rd, Tsim Sha Tsui

# Xu Liu Shan | 许留山

xls

I love love love love love love Hui Liu Shan. I would bring it to Singapore if I had the money. There’s a wide range of mango desserts, but I like the Hashima dessert best. There’s many outlets throughout HK, no excuse not to go. You must!

# Yee Shun Milk Company

milk

It took me a while to get used to the flavours at Yee Shun – they’re good for their steamed milk, steamed egg desserts. They also serve hot meals, which I’ve yet to try.

# Tsui Wah Restaurant

tw

tw2

And if you have no idea what to eat, you could always fall back on Tsui Wah with its variety and affordable prices. Like Hui Liu Shan, there are many branches around so it’s not tough to find one.

# Street food

Gan Dan Zai 雞蛋仔 and curry fishballs – that’s all I’d say.

And after all that, if you still have no clue where to eat (shame on you!), check out OpenRice – extensive and detailed listings of places to dine in HK.

As for places to stay,

motel

I stayed at this motel together with my best friend last year. We were on a budget and our accommodation didn’t have to be particularly fancy. I liked this particular room we stayed in, it was new, clean and felt safe.

There’s a story behind all this: So the first room we were given was totally different from what was shown in the pictures, plus after we paid for the upgrade. The room was so narrow that our beds were placed in a straight line. We were early so the room was not tidied after the previous guests had checked out. We were ok with that. Then, Yeong saw poop in the toilet bowl. And after the Uncle saw our pitiful/creeped out/omgwhatisthisshitplace/mummywhereareyou faces, he swopped us to this room instead.

Since it’s a motel, the check-in counter was literally a booth. The rooms are scattered throughout various buildings. Very bizarre layout, but I was really satisfied with our second room.

My mom freaked out when she did a Google search on this motel, and there was a Youtube video on it, titled “Worst motel in HK” or something to that extent. What can I say, it was all part of the experience 😉

Hong Kong Motel
Tel: +852 2366 1666
Nearest MTR: Tsim Sha Tsui

And if you’re not on a tight budget, Hotel Benito offers pretty reasonable rates too.

Hotel Benito
7-7B Cameron Rd, Hong Kong
Tel: +852 3653 0388
Nearest MTR: Tsim Sha Tsui Station

2 thoughts on “HONG KONG – DIM SUM AND MORE!

  1. Wow I’m drooling #nomnom! Looks like an amazing trip & great choice on Lan Fong Yuen, they serve the best HK-style milk tea by far among all other places I’ve tried 🙂

    • yes, that’s right! 😉 i remember their milk tea was a popular item on their menu. do you head to HK often too? btw, i loved your wedding pictures on your blog. you guys are so photogenic!

Leave a Reply

