BANANA PIE

Fresh from the oven…

My blog posts have now become a monthly affair. I choose to believe that’s because I spend more time in the kitchen baking and cooking than at the com 🙂

I wanna share this Banana Pie recipe from Aunty Yochana today – mm banana pie… now I know bananas aren’t everyone’s favourite fruit. And to have that in a pie? But trust me, it’s a refreshing change from the usual Apple Crumble and Apple Pie.

Banana pies are not often heard of – but one place that does it is Donna Manis Cake Shop in Katong, read more here. Idea: try adding chopped nuts to your pie the next time, just like what they’ve done.

I’ve been down with a cold the past few days, which saw me being glued to my bed the whole of yesterday. I’m feeling better now, and to prove just that, I baked a banana pie today (as above) – also because the bananas at home were really ripe. It’s my second try at this recipe, and the crust turned out better than before.

On my first attempt a few weeks back

Banana Pie

Prep time 20 minutes
Cook time 10 minutes + 50 minutes 

pie crust
125g butter
40g castor sugar
30g custard powder
250g plain flour
1 egg

filling
3 to 4 pieces Bananas – slice thickly
100g dessicated coconut – buy fresh coconut and toast it then weigh 100 gm
60g brown sugar
40g plain flour
60g melted butter
4 eggs
200ml milk

  • To make the pie crust – beat butter and castor sugar till creamy.
  • Add in eggs and mix till combined. Then add in flour and custard powder. Mix till a dough is formed.
  • Press into a 9″ pie pan (loose-bottom). Blind bake at 180C for about 10 mins.
  • To make the filling, mix dessicated coconut, brown sugar and flour together. Stir in butter, eggs and milk and mix thoroughly.
  • Arrange sliced bananas in the half-baked pie crust then pour the fillings over the bananas and rebake again at 160C for about 50 mins or till golden brown.
  • Remove from oven and let it cool completely before slicing

Points to note
– Refrigerate the dough for 10-15 minutes – this would make it easier when rolling it
– I followed the timings to a T and it turned out well.

 

I have a huge backlog of posts, but I’ll take it one post at a time. I’m also really excited for my first bread making class this weekend with Sarah from Sarah’s Loft! That I’ll blog about!

Leave a Reply

