THAI GREEN CURRY

As promised in my last post (which was in the middle of July, omg time passed so fast) – I aimed to give Thai green curry a try. 
 
I gave it a try, and would say I succeeded. The tastes were there – could have been a litte more spicy, but with what ingredients I gathered from the fridge at that point in time, I think I did a pretty ok job.
 
So, the all too familiar food positioning – I should create a new category and add this to “dinner bento posts”.
 
There are various types of Thai curries – there’s also the red curry, which I think would be somewhat similar to an Indian curry, but I could be very wrong.
 
I’ve always been a fan of Thai green curry – it’s a perfect dish for someone who doesn’t like their curries too spicy, yet wants a bit of that zing. If you’re making it, it really all depends on the type of chillis you use, and if you decide to include the seeds. The seeds are the most potent!

I was really wowed by how easy it was to make the curry paste. I was a little hesistant when I saw the number of ingredients involved. But surprisingly, these are everyday items that you have in your fridge – perhaps more common in Asian kitchens, especially the galangal. The paste is also really easy to keep – simple store and freeze.
 
I really love my onions / shallots – and added more than what was recommended in the recipe which I got from about.com. As usual, I dug out the remnants from the fridge, that is, pork balls and shiitake mushrooms. These are some of my favourite ingredients, especially for steamboat. I find that it really makes a difference, you’ll really look forward to savouring your meal!
  
THAI GREEN CURRY
Prep time 25 minutes
Cook time 20 minutes

green curry paste

4 small green Thai chilies
1/4 cup shallots
4 cloves garlic, minced
1 thumb-size piece galangal, grated (substitute with ginger)
1 stalk fresh minced lemongrass
1/2 tsp. ground coriander
1/2 tsp. ground cumin
3/4 to 1 tsp. shrimp paste
1 cup fresh coriander/cilantro leaves and stems, chopped
1/2 tsp ground white pepper
3 tbsp fish sauce
1 tsp brown sugar
2 tbsp lime juice
 

about 0.7 kg boneless chicken thigh or breast, cut into chunks
1 can coconut milk
4 kaffir lime leaves (or lime zest)
handful fresh basil
2 tbsp coconut oil or other vegetable oil (I used vegetable oil)

    • Place all the green curry paste ingredients together in a food processor, and process to a paste.
    • If necessary, add a few Tbsp. of the coconut milk to help blend ingredients. Set aside.
    • Prepare the lime leaves by tearing the leaf away from either side of the stem. Discard the central stem. Then, using scissors, cut leaves into thin strips. Set aside.
    • Warm a wok or large frying pan over medium-high heat. Add the oil and swirl around, then add the green curry paste.
    • Stir-fry briefly to release the fragrance (30 seconds to 1 minute), then add 3/4 of the coconut milk, reserving 2-3 tbsp. per serving portion for later.
    • Add the chicken, stirring to incorporate. When the curry sauce comes to a boil, reduce heat to medium or medium-low, until you get a nice simmer.
    • Cover and allow to simmer 3-5 more minutes, or until chicken is cooked through. Stir occasionally.
    • Add the strips of lime leaf, stirring well to incorporate. Simmer another 2-3 minutes, or until vegetables are softened but still firm and colorful.
    • Do a taste-test for salt, adding 1-2 tbsp. fish sauce if not salty enough. If you’d prefer a sweeter curry, add a little more sugar. If too salty, add a squeeze of lime or lemon juice. If too spicy, add more coconut milk. Note that this curry should be a balance of salty, spicy, sweet and sour, plus bitter (the bitter is found in the fresh basil garnish).

Points to note:
– I excluded the zuchinis and red bell peppers in the recipe that was given by About.com, which is a slightly more Westernised addition to the curry.
– I used big red chillies instead of green chillies, it worked out well too.

Leave a Reply

