DONA MANIS CAKE SHOP

Another lucky find over the weekend! Well, not really, since I always knew the shop existed, but this visit enabled me to try more of their pastries on offer 🙂

East-siders would be familiar with this building – Katong Shopping Centre. It’s just down the road from the string of laksa stalls, and a five minute walk from 112 Katong. I’ve been living in the east my whole life, and I know Katong Shopping Centre is always known for its maid agencies, random Teo Heng outlet, and a shop that sells school uniforms. If you need to photocopy in bulk, check the place out, they photocopy for 3 cents per page.

And not forgetting, the famous cake shop located at the basement of the mall – Dona Manis Cake Shop. It’s an old-school cake shop, which sells items like Chinese New Year tarts and biscuits, to breads and scones (I was a little ??? when I saw the scones), to pastries.

You won’t miss the shop – the buttery smell of bread could be detected a distance away. From the looks of the shop front, it’s been there for ages which I think, gives it extra credibility in determining if their goods are worth trying. 🙂

#1 Banana Pie ($2/slice or $20 for whole)

My mom was very intent on getting their banana pie. At $2/slice, I thought it was pretty pricey, on hindsight, compare it to places like Starbucks which sells theirs for 3 times their price.

You don’t get banana pies very often, and what sets this one apart from the others is the layer of shredded coconut in the pie. It gave the filling a different texture, not making it entirely mushy because of the banana. The peanuts on the top also gives it a nice finishing touch. It’s probably their family recipe, which makes it really home-made, almost as if your grandma just baked an entire pie for the afternoon. Not blindly manufactured like the commercial ones in the shops. It’s also fairly light and not too jelak. 

If you don’t mind the coconut (which doesn’t have a strong taste anyway), do try this one. I say it’s a must have.

#2 Chocolate Tart ($0.70/piece)

I remember having their chocolate tarts about a year ago, and really raving about it. This time round, I’m not sure if it was because of the slight durian smell that was caused by the presence of durians in my fridge when I tried to chill the tarts, but it wasn’t as fantastic as I remembered it to be. Still good, but not as fantastic as before. Or maybe it’s because I was too busy trying to consume it in small bites as I thought of the price of the tart, which I thought was slightly pricey too.

Overall, these are great when you have to attend a potluck party or tea session – it comes in bite-sized portions, plus no one can resist chocolate.

#3 Butter Bun ($1.20/piece)

Oh their butter buns are to die for. My mom overheard a customer telling the shopowner – “my son loves these buns!!” It seemed as if she knows what she was talking about and she frequents the place. My mom, being my mom, had to get a few pieces to try. She got 4… and I remember saying, “Mummy! It’s just butter and bread” which does sound pretty unappealing if you ask me.

I was so wrong.

I bit into one of the buns as soon as we left, because according to my mom – “try lah, if nice, we can get somemore.

Me: Okay.

*OM NOM NOM*

Me: *eyes light up* Wah, Mummy, you’ve got to try it.

A picture below to illustrate the goodness of the bun.

The walls of the bun were DRIPPING butter. It was so yum, and not for those who likes to count their calories. If I had to pick at anything, the butter was slightly salty. But other than that, the sweetness of the bun matched with the saltiness of the soft, melted butter. It was simply DIVINE. Plus the bun was really soft.

I took the dripping butter picture of an overnight bun – I kept it for breakfast the next day, and it was still dripping.

Will. go. back. to. get. moarrrrrrrr.

Dona Manis Cake Shop
865 Mountbatten Road, 

#B1-93 Katong Shopping Centre
Tel: 6440 7688 

As an aside, I’d like to recommend a chicken rice stall which I occasionally frequent as well. The stall is the star of the food court. I was there just before lunch on a Saturday afternoon, and out of 10 customers that walk into the food court, 8 of them would be buying from the stall. They even had those barricades to indicate to customers where the queue starts. 

There’s only one food court in the mall, and it’s at the basement too, so it’s easy to find.

Also, with a name like Delicious Boneless Chicken Rice, surely it must be delicious?

We had this, with two plates of rice for $15. That’s char siew on the other plate. 

Those are fried garlic bits garnished on the top, and seriously, it’s as if their cucumber is free. My mom exclaimed at the number of pieces of cucumber which they gave with the chicken. LOL. We had the roasted chicken, and the meat was tender, not salty (you can ask for less soya sauce which they drizzle over the meat). 

I was also very intrigued by the rice. It doesn’t have the strong ginger / garlic flavour that is in many versions of the chicken rice in Singapore, and which leaves a really strong smell in your mouth which you can’t get rid of the entire day. True story. The rice was also more yellow than the ones I usually see.

Plus point to their soups as well. It’s not just some bland soup with random vegetables thrown in. They change their soups almost every other day – my assumption, but I’ll just have to try it once more. Once, I went there and they had herbal soup, and on the day I visited, vegetable soup. I have a strong feeling it varies from day to day, so yay go try.

Not forgetting, their chilli sauce?

Potent.

Delicious Boneless Chicken Rice
865 Mountbatten Road,
#B1-85/87, Stall 3,
Katong Shopping Centre

2 thoughts on “DONA MANIS CAKE SHOP

  1. Pingback: BANANA PIE | She Bakes, I Blog

  2. Hello, i read your blog from time to time and i own a similar one and i was just curious if you get a lot
    of spam comments? If so how do you reduce it, any plugin or anything you can
    recommend? I get so much lately it’s driving me crazy so any assistance is very much appreciated.

Leave a Reply

