PEANUT COOKIES REVISITED

I was itching to make some cookies after work about one and a half weeks back, but I was also too lazy to head to the shops to get ingredients. In times like these, I say, just use whatever you can find in your kitchen to whip up something. And it proved to be very successful!

This is my second attempt at Peanut Cookies (well, sort of). I blogged about these about one year back, do visit that link as well to decide which recipe you prefer. This batch turned out smoother because of the peanut butter, whereas I used ground peanuts for the other one.

I used All recipe’s Classic Peanut Butter Cookies, but once again, made various changes to it. Just a tip, it’s good to read through the reviews, and more often than not, it’s good to heed their advice, which was what I did.

Makes 48 (dependent on the size of the balls, mine were about 1 inch in diameter)
Prep time 10 minutes
Cook time 6-8 minutes

1/2 cup unsalted butter
1/2 cup unsalted creamy peanut butter
1/2 cup white sugar
1/2 cup packed brown sugar
1 egg
1-1/4 cups all-purpose flour
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1/4 teaspoon salt
3/4 teaspoon baking soda

  1. Cream together butter, peanut butter and sugars. Beat in egg.
  2. In a separate bowl, sift together flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt. Stir into batter. Put batter in refrigerator for 1 hour.
  3. Roll into 1 inch balls and put on baking sheets. Lightly flatten each ball with a spatula.
  4. Bake in a preheated 180 degrees celsius oven for about six to eight minutes or until cookies begin to brown. Do not over-bake.

Few things to note:
– I used unsalted creamy peanut butter (brand: Adams) instead of crunchy peanut butter in Allrecipe’s recipe.
– Although the recipe says 1/2 cup of white sugar and 1/2 cup brown sugar, I used approximately 3/4 of a 1/2 cup, that is, 3/8 sugar for each. We’re trying to reduce our sugar intake at home, which was just about right.
– Also, you’ll notice that there are speckles on the cookies. It’s a neat trick, but it really makes your cookies really sweet, but I’ll share it anyways. I gently rolled each ball in sugar, which gives it a nice glaze on the outside.
– Work slowly and systematically. I rolled out enough balls to make two trays of cookies rolled in sugar, and when I received feedback that it was too sweet, I stopped rolling them in sugar for the latter two trays. It’s good to be able to correct yourself along the way.
– I was expecting only 12 cookies, as mentioned in their recipe. So I kept half the dough in the fridge for about 3-4 days, and it still turned out well.
I don’t know anyone who doesn’t like peanut butter, so give this a shot. My brother absolutely adored them, he polished the entire batch!

Leave a Reply

