Getting one to eat their greens

The vegetable monster is intimidating and it says RAWR. Ok I know, that was lame.

Since we’re on the topic of food, something struck me when I was slurping my minestrone soup at work today.

…Wow, I’m eating so much vegetables.

I remember thinking, I might as well be nicknamed Popeye or Captain Planet (to be honest, I can’t remember the plots in those two stories, I only remember one loved his spinach and the other helped save our planet. Close enough)

That's right, I have huge muscles and abs.

So you see, I have this huge aversion to vegetables, other than onions (which I LOVE) and potatoes (which I ALSO LOVE) that goes into my fries. I am pretty selective when it comes to my greens, and I thought I would grow out of it (which I think will succeed someday), but it doesn’t seem to be the case.

Everyone knows that vegetables contain a great variety of other phytochemicals, some of which have been claimed to have antioxidant, antibacterial, antifungal, antiviral and anticarcinogenic properties.

..and that’s from my best friend at Wiki.

But I finished my entire bowl of minestrone soup, which was amazing, because it was filled with celery, vegetables, tomatoes, carrots, onions. See how the dish deceives people. It makes you think it’s soup, no it’s vegetables, no it’s soup!

My point being, not only is minestrone soup

    • deceptive
    • somewhat healthy (according to Soup Spoon, it’s one dish that registers one of the lowest calories in the list)
    • easy to do (just some tomato puree, broth and water), and
    • according to my grandmother, it’s one dish to throw all your leftover vegetables in. 

And because of the last honest reason, Minestrone soup wins.

Yummy image from Taste.com.au

Do suggest great vegetable dishes that you love.

I like my asparagus and blue cheese, or broccoli and cheese (..I’m trying). Either that, you can answer the poll below.

Leave a Reply

