Peach Tart

This post is also going to be my first submission to TasteSpotting, I hope it goes through, so I’m pretty excited about this one.

If you’re on my Twitter list, you’ll probably know that I go on and on about the things I do when I’m bored at home. Because I get to see a finished product when I cook/bake, it seems much more meaningful and that’s what I usually fill my spare days with :3

…And so, I tried baking a Peach Tart today, and I really loved it. This comes after two earlier failed attempts on Monday. The recipe which I thought was the perfect one turned out to be crap. After many cups of wasted flour, sugar and eggs, I’ve come a long way to producing this one.

I LOVE PEACH TARTS. I usually order a fruit tart whenever I’m at Delifrance, but since I don’t eat strawberries nor kiwis, I pick them off and I end up with just the peaches on the tart. So that’s where I got my inspiration from. I think of things I like to eat, and I recreate them.

I got the peach tartlet recipe from TasteofHome, and you can read more of it here. Mine’s really different from the recipe I referred to. I halved the recipe, so the recipe you see below is the exact one I used. I made adjustments to it as well, and ended up following only half of the recipe.

Peach Tartlets

Makes 18
Prep time
30 minutes
Bake time
20 minutes + cooling time 

pastry
1 and 2/3 cup plain flour
1/8 cup sugar
1/2 cup cold butter, cubed
1/4 cup plus 1 tablespoon cold water
1 egg yolk

filling
2 tablespoon custard powder
1 tablespoon sugar
1 cup water
lemon juice, to taste
12-15 pieces sliced peaches, drained
whipping cream, optional

  • Combine flour, sugar and salt. Cut in butter until mixture resembles coarse crumbs.
  • Add water and egg yolk, and stir until dough forms to a ball.
  • Divide dough into desired portions (according to the size of your tart moulds).
  • Press dough into moulds and up the sides of 18 moulds measuring 2 inches in diameter.
  • Bake at 200 degrees celsius for 15-20 minutes or until golden brown. Cool on wire racks.
  • To make filling, combine custard powder and sugar, and stir until smooth.
  • Heat a saucepan with water and bring it close to boiling point.
  • Stir in custard powder mix and turn off heat when it slightly thickens.
  • Remove from heat and continue to stir till thick. Keep cool.
  • Spoon filling into tart shells, and garnish with peaches and whipping cream.
  • Keep chilled.

Points to note

1. If you like something a little sweeter, use 2 tablespoons of sugar for the filling instead. I reckoned mine was just fine because of the sugar syrup from the peaches (I used the ones from the can).

2. I would replace the water in the tart filling with milk, to get a really milky custard.

3. Remember to drain your peaches dry.

4. Ensure the shells and filling are cooled entirely.

 

Leave a Reply

