Focaccia Bread

df

I don’t know if the above picture would please you or shock you.

To be honest, I wasn’t satisfied. It didn’t look as aesthetically charming as I expected it to be. Okay okay, it’s not as if it’s my Prince Charming :3 I dreamt that it would come out looking a little fluffier and a little more refined. It looks clumsy, someone might actually die if I used this to clobber their head?

But I liked it anyway. Especially the process of seeing the dough rise. It was my first time making bread from scratch, and it was simply…. magic. 

To illustrate how I enjoyed the fruits of my labour, let’s just say I packed olive oil, butter (in a clear plastic bag), and bread in my lunchbox this morning. It really amazes me how I can go to such efforts. But it’s the little things in life, isn’t it? So as I was working on my bulletins at work today, I was seated happily in a corner, with my legs propped up on the CPU, and my faithful spork in one hand, and an oily mouse in the other.

Now I’m hooked, and I’m going to spend the next few weeks looking for more bread recipes. Yay.

I highly recommend this simple recipe from allrecipes for anyone who is starting out, and doesn’t want plain bread on their first try.

I tend to alter the measurements here and there when referring to recipes. Many times, it depends on what is in the kitchen. Here, I omitted garlic powder, and used rosemary, basil, oregano and parsley for herbs instead. I also swopped vegetable oil and slathered on olive oil instead.

A good tip would be to spend more time kneading the dough and letting it rise. I spent a mere five to 10 minutes for the former and close to half an hour for the latter. You will end up getting a denser bread than expected.

My grandma dished another useful tip: a “warm” place would help the yeast to grow. I made mine in the evening, and surely much cooler than if I made it in the afternoon.

There, I told you. Am I right? It takes magic! 😉

Focaccia Bread 

Serves 6
Prep time 30 minutes + 30 minutes or desired time to rise
Cook time 20 minutes

1-1/3 cups and 1 tablespoon all-purpose flour
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 tsp white sugar
1-1/2 tsp active dry yeast
1/2 tsp garlic powder
1/2 tsp dried oregano
1/2 tsp dried thyme
1/4 tsp dried basil
1/2 pinch ground black pepper
1-1/2 tsp vegetable oil
1/2 cup water
1 tbsp olive oil
1-1/2 tsp grated Parmesan cheese
1/2 cup mozzarella

  1. In a large bowl, stir together the flour, salt, sugar, yeast, garlic powder, oregano, thyme, basil and black pepper. Mix in the vegetable oil and water.
  2. When the dough has pulled together, turn it out onto a lightly floured surface, and knead until smooth and elastic. Lightly oil a large bowl, place the dough in the bowl, and turn to coat with oil. Cover with a damp cloth, and let rise in a warm place for 20 minutes.
  3. Preheat oven to 230 degrees C. Punch dough down; place on greased baking sheet. Pat into a 1/2 inch thick rectangle. Brush top with olive oil. Sprinkle with Parmesan cheese and mozzarella cheese.
  4. Bake in preheated oven for 15 minutes, or until golden brown. Serve warm.

2 thoughts on “Focaccia Bread

  1. Hmm it seems like your website ate my first comment (it was super long) so I guess I’ll just sum it up what I had written and say, I’m thoroughly enjoying your blog. I as well am an aspiring blog writer but I’m still new to everything. Do you have any suggestions for novice blog writers? I’d really appreciate it.

    • Thanks for dropping by! I’m really new to upkeeping a blog as well. But I’d say focus on something that you like to write passionately about. It won’t be difficult to churn out information that way. Also, consistency, I’m really trying with that, but commit to writing say 2 times a week.

Leave a Reply

