Happy Chef

All you Ang Mo Kio-ers, rejoice. If you love your Western food, there’s one establishment at St 54 you have to check out.

We tried Happy Chef for the first time, as recommended by my dad, (btw, he’s the one to go to for suggestions on good hawker food. He even shares a food blog with his friends, now I know where I got my genes from… but I’ll save that story for another time), and I was really impressed! If there’s any indication of how good the food is, the newspaper cuttings on the wall would testify for it.

Chuck your diet plans aside, and forget your calorie count for the day. Before you head to Happy Chef, you’d better be prepared for huge portions of Western fare that is actually decently yummy at hawker prices. They literally pile up the stack of fries on your plate, I could barely navigate around my plate without pushing food off :/

We had the Fish Schnitzel, BBQ Cajun Fish, Chicken Kiev, Pork Ribs and a side order of Breaded Mushrooms. The latter seemed to be a popular choice among the tables around us but it was ok. But what I must point out is… (other than the 烂 photo quality :D)

THE SIZE OF THIS GIGANTIC, ENORMOUS CHUNK OF A THING. IT IS SO HUGE YOU CAN’T EVEN SEE THE REST OF THE ITEMS ON THE PLATE :O YES AND I AM SHOUTING D:

In general, I hate having to hammer my knife and fork through my meat. But the ones here peeled off the bone really easily, and coupled with the BBQ sauce, was almost as if the slivers of pork melted in my mouth. Endless amount of fries, vegetable salad, and garlic bread accompany this massive item. And all that, for $7.50 (yeah, ikr!)

Then there’s my Chicken Kiev which I think deserves a mention. And for those who don’t know what in the world a kiev might be, thanks to Wikipedia, it is a boneless chicken breast pounded and rolled around cold garlic butter with herbs, then breaded and either fried or baked.

I reckoned mine was more of a Cordon Bleu with ham wrapped in layers of chicken, melted cheese oozing from this heart attack-inducing thing, and resting in a bed of gravy. Yum. Admittedly, it did get quite jelat after a bit and I could only finish half of it, but that’s also because I was stuffing my face with fries. This was $8, which I think is really reasonable.

I say, forget the vegetable salad on your plate. You might need to down copious amounts of tea after this, but hey, we only live once right?

Happy Chef

Blk 554 Ang Mo Kio Ave 10,
#01-2040
Tel: 6458 2546

Leave a Reply

