Coconut Milk Agar Agar

Finally, something that I made! I woke up from a two hour afternoon nap today and felt really unproductive. My mouth was also itching for something sweet. I rushed these half an hour before my 7 o’clock Pinoy show started and aren’t these the cutest things ever? Also, great for Valentine’s Day! I did a quick Google and found wackier looking ones like these! Maybe I’ll make some Milo ones soon.

Agar-agar is the Malay word for jelly, and with these, it takes a bit of mixing here and there, something similar to mixing colours in kindergaten. Because I was lazy, I only made one colour. But my grandma usually lays it in a big tray, with one clear layer, and the second, coconut milk. Very patriotic for National Day.

Coconut Milk Agar Agar
Serves 40 pieces

Pandan leaves (I used 4 strands)
A packet of red Swallow Globe Jelly Powder (Do you know these are made in Chile? You can get boxes of these off their website: www.swallow-globe.com.au)
8 ounces fine sugar
3 mugs of water
200ml of coconut milk

  • Place jelly powder, sugar, water and pandan leaves into a pot and let it boil. Continue to stir the mixture.
  • Once it starts bubbling, pour in the coconut milk. Stir.
  • Pour into the moulds and let it cool before placing in the fridge.
Leave a Reply

