JAPANESE CURRY RICE

This is so easy to do – and like me, you’ll be surprised at how easy it is too.

Keeping up with the string of Japanese recipes I posted a few posts back, I decided to try my hand at Japanese curry rice this time round. Wow, I must be really catching up with this Japanese food craze. Remember how I gushed over Ma Maison’s tonkatsu curry a few posts back as well? :3

I was pretty satisfied at my first attempt at making curry – it took me slightly over two hours that I was so drained after that. I’ve always just been a little apprehensive with regards to the proportion of mixing spices when it comes to making curry.

This would go really well with a pork cutlet. Here, I used Marc’s recipe from Norecipes.com. I’ve tweaked it slightly, but the bulk of the recipe is Marc’s. For Marc’s recipe, head here.

Prep time 20 minutes
Cook time 1 hour 

for the curry
2 tsp oil
2 large onions, sliced thinly
500g pork, cut into chunks
2 carrots, cut into chunks
4 cups water (I used slightly less than this)
2 potatoes, cut into large chunks
1 small apple peeled cored and pureed
2 tsp kosher salt (use less if you use regular salt, I used regular salt)
1 tsp curry powder (Marc uses garam masala)

for the roux
3 tbsp butter
1/4 cup flour
2 tbsp curry powder (Marc recommends using garam masala)
1/2 tsp cayenne pepper (I used the sachets of chilli flakes you get from Pizza Hut)
fresh ground black pepper
1 tbsp ketchup
1 tbsp worcestershire sauce

1. Heat the oil in a large saucepan over medium low heat and add the onions.
2. Saute the onions until they are golden brown and caramelized.
3. Turn up the heat to high, add the pork and brown.
4. Add the carrots, and the water then bring to a boil.
5. Skim off any foam or oil that accumulates at the surface then lower heat to medium and add the potatoes, pureed apple, salt and curry powder.
6. Simmer for about 30 minutes or until you can pass a fork through the carrots and potatoes and the meat is tender.
7. To make the roux, melt the butter over medium low heat.
8. Add the flour and curry powder, stirring until you obtain a thick paste.
9. Add the cayenne pepper and some freshly ground black pepper to the roux.
10. Add the ketchup and tonkatsu sauce and combine.
11.Continue to cook until the paste starts crumbling.
12. Remove from heat and set aside until the meat and veggies are ready.
13. To make the curry, laddle about 2 cups of liquid into the roux then whisk until it’s smooth.
14. Pour this mixture back into the other pot and gently stir until thickened.

Tips!
– Be extra careful when saute-ing the onions, especially in a large amount. It tends to sting your eyes.
– Don’t cut your potatoes too small, for it will melt and disintegrate into the curry.

One thought on “JAPANESE CURRY RICE

  1. Pingback: WHAT’S YOUR FLAVA? | She Bakes, I Blog

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 193 other followers

